SMS Spam Is The Worst Spam
16 January 2007 in Root | Comments enabled

There is nothing more irritating that seeing this arrive in your textmessage inbox:

Spam Message Served

And opening the message you see this (notice that “soittoaani” should be spelled “soittoääni”:

Opening SMS Spam

What it is, is not an offer of gratitude from your mobile phone operator, but plain and simple spam to get you hooked on ordering their services. But, the fun part is that the user agreement (or TOS, EULA, I don’t know the exact word to use here) tells you that you are signing up to their service and paying 2€ for the luxury of free tones per month, or at least so according to F-Secure’s weblog. :?

Where is the sender from? No-one seems to know for sure, but the domain vkap.net is registered in Germany, so probably from there. (Jamba, aka. Jamster is also from the same country, but there is no evident connection between vkap and them)

What can you do to stop the spam? Whatever you do, do NOT connect to the site or type it in your browser! Contact your operator immidiately when you get this piece of sh… uhum, spam and tell them what you generally think of spam. (Don’t be too harsh, or “direct”, with the helpdesk personel, though; they are humans too.) Hopefully we can all erase this before it grows too big.

1 comment. Add your own comment.

Jay Edelson says 14 February 2007 @ 20:16

My law firm just settled a class action, resolving a case involving allegations of unsolicited text message transmissions. Under the settlement, each class member will receive up to $150. This is the first settlement of its kind.

We are trying to get the word out on this settlement, so that the members of the class will learn about it and claim their benefits.

The following people are eligable to receive funds from the settlement: ALL PERSONS WHO RECEIVED A TEXT MESSAGE between the dates of July 17, 2002 and July 17, 2006, FROM DISTRIBUTIVE NETWORKS, LLC or Astromobo.com or dailypopgossip.com or Madlovetips.com or dailydoseofblue.com or ringstarmobile.com without your prior express consent

We have set up a website at http://www.distnetsettlement.com where class members can learn about the settlement and obtain claim forms. Our law firm’s website, should people want to contact us directly, is at http://www.blimlaw.com.

Leave a Comment

Name

E-mail (not published)

Website

Your comment:


  •  

    January 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Feb »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Categories